International Ice Hockey Federation

Jagr wins MVP

Jagr wins MVP

741,690 fans attended Worlds

Published 18.05.2015 20:15 GMT+2 | Author Andy Potts
Jagr wins MVP
Jaromir Jagr receives awards at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship. In absence of Jagr, Dr Winfried Vahland, CEO of Škoda Auto, presented the MVP trophy to Slavomir Lener of the Czech Ice Hockey Association. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
A great tournament at the end of a great international career saw the Czech hockey legend add another honour to his glittering resume.

Jaromir Jagr may have ended his final international tournament without a medal, but the 43-year-old forward was presented with the MVP award for the 2015 IIHF World Ice Hockey Championship.

Jagr was an inspiration for the Czechs once again, leading from the front to take his team to the semi-finals and delivering a memorable match-winning performance against the Finns in the last eight to delight the home crowd.

He finished his farewell IIHF competition with 6+3=9 points from 10 games and received a huge ovation from fans in the O2 Arena at the end of the bronze medal game despite the Czechs’ 3-0 loss to the USA.

Jagr’s prize was awarded by the media, but the other honours were dominated by Canada. The tournament directorate rated Brent Burns as the best defenceman and Jason Spezza, whose 14 points led the scoring charts, was the best forward. The goaltending prize went to Finland’s Pekka Rinne after he set a post-war shut-out record of 237.05 during the group phase.

The media select line-up also feature Burns, Spezza and Jagr, but also found room for young American goalie Connor Hellebuyck. The St. John’s Icecaps prospect celebrates his 22nd birthday on Tuesday and can add indiivual recognition to the bronze medal he helped his team to win with some hugely impressive stats. He finished with a 94.79% save percentage and just 1.39 GAA.

The team of the tournament was rounded out with Swedish defenceman Oliver Ekman-Larsson, whose 12-point haul in eight games was the best from a blue-liner in the competition. Canadian forward Taylor Hall (7+5=12 points) also made the selection for his contribution to the champion’s free-wheeling rush to 66 goals.

Continue reading

The 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship also set a new attendance record with 741,690 spectators coming to the 64 games played in Prague and Ostrava. The average attendance was 11,589 – another record that exceeds the average of 11,078 set in Moscow 1979. The Czech Republic reclaims the attendance record it set when 552,097 fans watched games in Prague and Ostrava in 2004. Last year Minsk, Belarus, beat that mark with 640,044 fans watching 64 games.

Most Valuable Player (selected by the media)
Jaromir Jagr, Czech Republic

Individual Awards (selected by the tournament directorate)
Best Goaltender: Pekka Rinne, Finland
Best Defenceman: Brent Burns, Canada
Best Forward: Jason Spezza, Canada

All-Star Team (selected by the media)
GK: Connor Hellebuyck, USA
DE: Brent Burns, Canada
DE: Oliver Ekman-Larsson, Sweden
FW: Jaromir Jagr, Czech Republic
FW: Jason Spezza, Canada
FW: Taylor Hall, Canada


Back to Overview